Colorado must release police body camera footage within 21 days of request

The Denver Post: Colorado has a new law meant to promote police accountability by mandating prompt release of body camera footage, among other steps.

Gov. Jared Polis on Tuesday signed HB21-1250, which requires police to release requested body camera footage that’s unredacted (with few exceptions) within 21 days in cases where someone has complained of officer misconduct. The rule goes into effect immediately and will give families of people who were injured or killed by police greater access to information about the cases.

It follows a 2020 law that forces all departments to be outfitted with body cameras by July 1, 2023, but bill sponsor Democratic Rep. Leslie Herod of Denver said the state shouldn’t wait until then to increase transparency rules.

Visit The Denver Post for more.

Subscribe to Our Blog